Going along with the sanctity of life theme from the month of January, I struggle to understand suicide.

A few weeks ago I attended the funeral of a colleague’s 15 year old nephew who committed suicide. This was a bright and talented young man. He had friends that showed up at the funeral wearing bow ties in honor of this young man’s whimsical and fun personality. There were parents and a sibling who lovingly eulogized him. he had doting grandparents , aunts and uncles who spoke about a young man full of life with musical and theatrical talents that made him shine. hours before he jumped off an overpass into traffic, he was having fun with a friend making holiday treats. There are pictures of this on the facebook page.

So my question during the funeral(in my head) was why would this otherwise loved and lovely young man take his own life so decisively.What possesses a person to take their own life? How can someone feel so alone and in such a hopeless place while showing to the world a completely unique and fun personality?
I felt the pain of his parents. I felt it so acutely, that when I went home I hugged my kids so tightly. I began to look to my own children. Were they behaving normally? Were they keeping something from me? Were they sad?

What can a parent do more than that and try to foster healthy conversations and be available. Unfortunately, parents, teachers, or friends do not have the answers. Sometimes it is from within. Sometimes, there is an underlying mental health issue that has gone unnoticed or neglected.

I had known that there were kids in my older daughter’s school who had attempted but not succeeded suicide. But I never thought much about it because they did not succeed. Looking back I realize that even those who do not succeed are somehow or feel somehow broken inside.
This is so sad to me. I had almost forgotten about the suicide issue until another child, this time a middle school aged child was found unconscious in the boys bathroom with self inflicted wounds that eventually took his life as well. Middle school. These kids are ages 10-13. Think about that.

How early do we need to help educate kids, parents , and teachers about the signs and prevention of suicide? 4th grade?

Looking for some solutions. One child committing suicide is too much. More than that in this land of plenty makes me so sad.